World Languages

The world languages program at Seattle Central provides the opportunity for students intending to transfer to a four–year college or university as well as community members to begin study of languages and cultures. World language courses address speaking, listening comprehension, reading, and writing.

Cultural study emphasizes the naturally global and multicultural perspectives inherent in the study of world languages. Students who continue their language studies are well-prepared when they transfer to destination institutions. Many students also decide to volunteer, travel or work in countries where the language is spoken and find that they are able to communicate successfully.

World Languages Courses Offered

  • American Sign Language I–VI
  • Arabic I–III
  • Chinese I–III
  • French I–IV
  • German I–III
  • Japanese I–IV
  • Spanish I–IV

Relevant Links

Arabic at Seattle Central
French at Seattle Central

Earn a college transfer degree that includes World Languages classes.
LEARN MORE!

Planning to Major in World Languages?

Download this handy guide

Faculty

Tsai–En Cheng (Chinese)
Seattle University, M.A.
tsai–en.cheng@seattlecolleges.edu
Reham Elkhayat (Arabic)
Bellevue University, M.A.
reham.elkhayat@seattlecolleges.edu
Yuko Hanamure–Stalter (Japanese)
University of Hawaii at Manoa, M.A.
yuko.hanamure–stal1@seattlecolleges.edu
Laurie Kempen (French)
Stanford University, M.A.
University of Washington, Ph.D.
laurie.kempen@seattlecolleges.edu Laurie Kempen's faculty website
Hiroshi Miyamoto (Japanese)
Central Connecticut State University, M.S.
hiroshi.miyamoto@seattlecolleges.edu
Violeta Quintana (Spanish)
The University of Iowa, M.A., Ph.D.
violeta.quintana@seattlecolleges.edu
David Quintero (Spanish)
University of Washington, M.A., Ph.D.
david.quintero@seattlecolleges.edu
Katie Roberts (ASL)
Teachers' College, Columbia University, M.A.
katie.roberts@seattlecolleges.edu
Rebecca Robertson (Spanish)
University of Washington, M.A.
rebecca.robertson@seattlecolleges.edu
Carrie Tamburo (Spanish)
Tulane University, M.A.
University of California, Los Angeles, Ph.D.
carrie.tamburo@seattlecolleges.edu
Clyde Vincent (ASL)
Western Oregon University, M.A.
clyde.vincent@seattlecolleges.edu
Nathaniel Wilson (ASL)
Gallaudet University, B.A.
nat.wilson@seattlecolleges.edu

For more Information:

Humanities & Social Sciences Division
Seattle Central College
1701 Broadway, Room BE4128
Seattle, WA 98122
206.934.4164 206.934.4164

Back to the Top