Humanities

At Seattle Central, Humanities classes focus on multicultural and diversity studies, film and media studies, and courses on popular culture. The humanities are the stories, the ideas, and the words that help us make sense of our lives and our world.

The humanities introduce us to people we have never met, places we have never visited, and ideas that may have never crossed our minds. By showing how others have lived and thought about life, the humanities help us decide what is important in our own lives and what we can do to make them better.

By connecting us with other people, they point the way to answers about what is right or wrong, or what is true to our heritage and our history. The humanities help us address the challenges we face together in our families, our communities, and as a nation.

Humanities Courses Offered

  • Visual Thinking
  • Intercultural Communication
  • Introduction to Film
  • Hip–Hop Theory and Culture
  • Sports and Culture
  • World Cinema
  • History of Film
  • Gay and Lesbian Studies
  • Sequential Art: Comic books, manga, and graphic novels
Earn a college transfer degree that includes Humanities classes.
LEARN MORE!

Faculty

Daudi Abe
University of Washington, M.Ed., Ph.D. (Multicultural Education)
daudi.abe@seattlcolleges.edu
Osei Bonsu
Old Dominion University, Finance, B.S.
Texas A&M International University, M.B.A.
Old Dominion University, International Studies, Ph.D.
osei.bonsu@seattlecolleges.edu
Michael Faucette
University of California, Berkeley, B.A.
University of Washington, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
michael.faucette@seattlcolleges.edu
Taare Giday
Oregon State University, M.S. (Geography)
taare.giday@seattlecolleges.edu
Veronica Barrera–Kolb
The Evergreen State College, B.A.
Pacific Oaks College Northwest, M.A.
University of Washington, M.C.
veronica.barrerra–kolb@seattlecolleges.edu
Jacqueline Ortoleva
California State University, M.A. (Humanities)
University of Southern California, M.A. (Education)
jacqueline.ortoleva@seattlecollege.edu
Leonard Rifas
University of Washington, M.A., Ph.D. (Communication)
leonard.rifas@seattlecolleges.edu

For more Information:

Humanities & Social Sciences Division
Seattle Central College
1701 Broadway, Room BE4128
Seattle, WA 98122
206.934.4164 206.934.4164

Back to the Top